Cash App is a digital payment app, which means any mistake will cost you real money. If a merchant keeps charging your card for a transaction you no longer want, the best next step is moving to block such a payment from going through successfully in the future.
However, while it’s pretty easy to block an individual from interacting with you on Cash App, it’s not as easy to block a merchant. For this single reason, people have had to put up with expensive recurring transactions, which isn’t the most economical thing to do.
In this article, I’ll show you how to block a single merchant from transacting with your Cash Card. Also, you’ll learn how to stop all kinds of unauthorized transactions on Cash App to avoid losing money steadily. In addition to all that, I’ll also answer some pressing questions about Cash App transactions.
Can You Block Automatic Payments on Cash App?
Yes, you can block automatic payments on Cash App.
To block automatic payments, you only need to contact Cash App Support and let them know that you intend to block the merchant offering the said service. That way, the merchant will be unable to charge you from your card, effectively ending any existing subscriptions you have with them.
As hinted earlier, the lone disadvantage of this is that it becomes impossible to access the other services that the merchant may be offering since they cannot charge you from your card. For that reason, you should avoid contacting Cash App to help you block a merchant unless every other method has failed.
How Do I Block a Transaction on Cash App?
To block a transaction on Cash App, you can do the following:
- Open the Cash App on your device.
- Tap on the “Clock” icon in the bottom-left corner of the screen to go to your history.
- Tap on the transaction that you want to block.
- Tap on the “Block” button.
This will block the transaction and prevent any further payments from being made to or from the account associated with the transaction. You can also delete the transaction by tapping on the “Delete” button instead of the “Block Payment” button.
NOTE: blocking a transaction will not cancel the transaction or reverse any funds that have already been transferred. If you need to cancel a transaction or request a refund, you may need to contact the recipient or sender directly or utilize Cash App’s dispute resolution process.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Cash App?
When you block a Cash App user, they won’t be able to find you from within the app. They also won’t be able to send you payments or payment requests; how can they even manage to do that if they can’t even find you in the first place?
When you block a merchant, however, they’ll only be unable to charge you from your Cash Card. If there are any recurring payments or subscriptions, Cash App will automatically cancel them on your behalf, which might be a helpful step if you’re facing difficulties trying to cancel your account from the merchant’s end.
However, you should note that blocking someone on Cash App is a two-way thing. While they won’t be able to find you or send you payments, you won’t be able to find them either, at least, not until you change your mind and decide to unblock them.
How to Block Someone on Cash App
You can block someone on Cash App to prevent them from sending payments or payment requests to you. It’s not recommended to use the block button on anyone unless they’re problematic, but if you must, here’s how to block someone on Cash App easily.
First, you’ll have to navigate to their profile somehow. Typically, you can do that by heading over to the activity tab and pressing on their name from there. When you get to their profile, scroll down until you see the “Block” option and tap on it to block the user.
When you block someone, you should be able to see their basic profile, but you won’t be able to send money or payment requests to them. Also, they’ll encounter errors if they also try to send a payment or payment request to you, which is the main point of the block, to begin with.
Blocking a transaction doesn’t seem to make much sense when talking about Cash App, but you can block individuals and merchants. In the context of this article, blocking a transaction seems more like blocking a transaction from a merchant, which is exactly what I’ve taught you how to do. If you were looking to learn how to block individuals, there’s a separate tutorial for that too.
Can I unblock a person after I’ve blocked them?
Yes, you can unblock a person after you’ve blocked them on Cash App. Open the Cash App and go to the Activity tab, select the transaction, scroll down and tap the unblock button.
Will the person I’ve blocked be notified that I’ve blocked them?
No, the person you’ve blocked will not be notified that you’ve blocked them.
Suzan was born in 1969 in Los Angeles and grew up in the San Fernando Valley. She attended UCLA, graduating in 1992 with a BA in Social Welfare.
From 1999 to 2004, Weiss was a visiting professor at Johns Hopkins’ Krieger School of Arts and Social Sciences and an adjunct professor of creative writing at The New School’s Eugene Lang College. She has also taught at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, New York University, and Columbia University.
She currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two sons.